Pageant Print Shop

    Before gentrification claimed the Village for condos and tourists, Fourth Ave’s “Book Row of America” was the epicenter of New York’s vibrant trade in antiquarian, rare and used books. Among Book Row’s few remaining living exiles is Pageant Print Shop, which has since traded Fourth Avenue for East Fourth Street. Open at this location since 2005, Pageant was founded in 1946 by Sidney Solomon & Henry “Chip” Chafetz, dealing books, prints and other varied manuscripts. Fans of Woody Allen’s “Hannah and Her Sisters” will be familiar with the old Pageant Print Shop incarnation on East Ninth St. where Michael Caine and Barbara Hershey sought the poems of e.e. cummings. Now run by Sidney’s daughter, Shirley Solomon, Pageant specializes in antique prints and maps with a particular focus on New York City themes. Besides the regulars, some of whom have frequented the shop since it’s early days, the shop caters to gift seekers and lots of artists—notably collagists—seeking materials or inspiration. Birds, botanicals, breads, boats—the style and subject of prints available is varied, curious and prime for browsing. During the winter holiday season Pageant goods can always be found at the giant Union Square Holiday Market.Show lessRead more

    69 East 4th Street , New York (btw Bowery & 2nd Ave)


    Public Transport
    F (2 Av)
    B,D,M (Broadway - Lafayette St)
    4,6 (Bleeker St)

    This shop has not uploaded any products yet.


    As chain stores fill the streetscape the world over, this project is a celebration of the independent retailer. All stores featured on Shopikon have been hand-picked by our editors who have visited thousands of stores, and only the best of the bunch make it into our guide. We evaluate stores based on product selection, atmosphere, dedication to their specialty, and overall shopping experience, making sure that they are all worth your trip!

    As seen on